Vue communication with backend

I would really appreciate some advice on how Vue.js could/should be getting and sending information to databases. I’ve been programming in other languages for many years and am trying to make the transition to the current way of developing web apps so that I can be employable in a modern IT shop.

Back in the day, we didn’t make the distinction between frontend and backend the same way it is done today and I still don’t fully understand the current way of thinking. It used to be absolutely standard for, say, a COBOL/COBOL II/PL1 program to display screens, gather data from that screen, validate it, then write it to a database like IMS or DB2. Nowadays, there seems to be something like a wall between frontend and backend and someone is either a frontend person or a backend person. In fact, I had a very experienced developer insist that there’s no such thing as a full-stack developer because you were either frontend or backend.

I’m skeptical about that. Having done both frontend (which is essentially getting and displaying information to a user) and backend (which is essentially getting and storing the data in a database), I think I am a sort of full-stack developer; I just don’t know how to do that in an environment where the frontend is Javascript and the backend is, say, MySQL, even though I have some knowledge of both.