I started Vue with Bootstrap 4, want to switch to native design framework. Quasar or Vuetify?

Hello, I added Vue reactivity to a one page of my exiting app that was built on ASP.Net Core 3.1 Razor Pages with classic Bootstrap 4 and I liked Vue very much!

So, now I willing to re-write my app for the Vue entirely and I want to switch away from Bootstrap to the something else.

What I disliked of the Bootstrap most: too big interface representation. Basically everything like buttons, tables and text are too big by default. My data-dense content does not fit very well to this style. Another drawback is relatively limited selection of UI elements. For that reason I do not consider BootstrapVue anymore.

What you guys do usually prefer? I found Quasar and Vutify looks nice. Quasar site, docs and UI scale (seems a bit smaller) appealing more to me. Right choice?

1 Like

Hi, I have been programming for 30 odd years but I am no expert in Vue. I have been using it with NodeJS at the back end for about a year. The app is used internally by about 100 users, so it is not a typical web app, but it has been quite well received. I had similar issues with default button sizes. I solved it using styles in App.vue which can then be used on my other components eg

<style  lang="stylus" >
  .Smaller_Button {
  text-align: left;
  font-size: 12px;
  width: 50px;
  height: 20px;
  padding: 0px 0px;
  margin: 5px
  }
  .UpdateButton {
@extend .Smaller_Button;
background-color:  blue;
  }
  .CancelButton {
@extend .Smaller_Button;
background-color:  red;
  }
  .ApproveButton {
@extend .Smaller_Button;
background-color:  green;
  }
  .RejectButton {
@extend .Smaller_Button;
color: black;
background-color:  pink;
  }

.Bigger_Button {
text-align: left;
font-size: 14px;
width: 120px;
height: 50px;
padding: 1px 1px;
margin:30px
  }
  .ReSubmitBigButton {
  @extend .Bigger_Button;
  background-color:  light-blue;
  }
  .CancelBigButton {
@extend .Bigger_Button;
background-color:  red;
  }