How to create a config.js file in the public folder

Hi. I have a Vue project that consumes a Rest API.
I need to have a javascript configuration file in the “public” folder to prevent “build” from minifying and merging with the rest of the code. I need to do that because this application is going to be used in different places for different clients and therefore I need to be able to configure it easily and quickly without having to “build” again. Environment variables don’t work for me in this case. How can I easily import that file into modules? if I use “import config from ‘…/…/public/config.js’” it won’t work for me in the development phase.
So the short question is how to create a configuration file that is not affected by the “build” phase and works for both development and production.
This application will run on a Tomcat in the root folder.
I am a newbie programmer so I would appreciate an example. Thank you very much.

3 Likes

Does it have to be a JavaScript file rather than JSON?

If it were JSON then you could load it in using an AJAX request, much the same as accessing your API.

Accessing a JavaScript file is more awkward. In theory it is possible to use import to pull in a module URL but I’m not sure whether you could use that to do what you want.

You could also add a <script> tag to the HTML to pull in the relevant file. That relies on the file exposing the config in a suitable way. Just using export isn’t going to work, it’d need to hook into globals via window in some way. Those globals would then be accessible in your other code.

2 Likes