Best way to use a CSS Framework?

Hi,

I’m new in Vue.js and more generally in web development (I come from the OOP world). I wonder about the best way to use a CSS Framework with Vue.js. My main concern is to be able to easily change Framework if my current choice (Bulma) is wrong.

I was thinking about using SCSS @extend rule:

<template> 
  <div class="my-class">...</div>
</template>

So the Vue.js code just names the elements without worrying about styling, and SCSS file make the job:

.my-class {
  @extend .a-bulma-class, .another-bulma-class;
  margin: 2em;
}

If I change the CSS Framework, then I just have to change the SCSS file:

.my-class {
  @extend .a-bootstrap-class;
  margin: 2em;
}

But after a few tests:

• The built CSS cascade is sometimes disordered:

.buttons .button:not(:last-child):not(.is-fullwidth), ... {
      margin-right: 0.5rem;
    }
    .buttons.has-addons .button:not(:last-child), ... {
      margin-right: -1px;
    }

Can become:

.buttons.has-addons .button:not(:last-child), ... {
      margin-right: -1px;
    }
    .buttons .button:not(:last-child):not(.is-fullwidth), ... {
      margin-right: 0.5rem;
    }

• Due to the @extend mechanics, the built CSS size grows significantly, eg 23 KB just adding:

.my-button {
      @extend .button;
    }

• I guess switching from one CSS Framework to another is not always limited to changing classes.

So… is there a better way to do that? Or the only good practice is to reference the CSS Framework directly in the Vue.js code, no matter how long it takes to (maybe) change CSS Framework later?

Thank you very much!

Hi.
It’s a very interesting question which I’m afraid I don’t have a positive answer.

IMO you can’t switch CSS framework easily due to CSS frameworks themselves: some days ago I wanted to quit Bootstrap, I tried Materialize, then Bulma (which I finally choose).