methods: {
  ...mapActions('user', ['loginUser']),
  processLogin() {
    const { credentials, loginUser } = this;
    loginUser(credentials)
      .then(goToNextPage);
  }
}

My problem is this: the component’s goToNextPage method is executing before the loginUser action is complete. I thought that actions defined with async are thennable? I want goToNextPage to wait until loginUser is resolved.

I’ve looked over this syntax multiple times. Am I missing something?? There are no errors from the user management API, so there is a successful login happening.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi.

await directive must call a function which return promise with a resolve/reject directive. Is it the case here? in login and getJWT functions?

Take a look at the MDN Documentation, which contain a simple example.

Also I’m not an expert of asynchronous function – I lost myself in asynchronous hell weeks ago with a 6 levels of async/await call – but I’m not sure it can contain multiple “await” in same logic.

Yes – both login() and getJWT() are returning promises, so that part works fine.

And I guess nothing is catch in log.error (otherwise await is never be called)? or console?

As I told I’m not an expert and I’m not pretty comfortable with this two lines:

const { credentials, loginUser } = this; // This is referring to local function (processLogin). So you bind a constant object with a function?
    loginUser(credentials) // This one because loginUser is waiting for two parameters: async loginUser({ commit }, credentials) 

The first line is using ES6 destructuring. The context this is the component, not the function.

The second line is calling an action which has an implicit first argument of state; the second argument is what you pass in.

May we have a look at login and getJWT function to see the entire logic of async/await?

They are both definitely returning promises. See below.

const login = params => {
  return new Promise(resolve => {